Skip to main content

Board of Fire Commissioners

Fire districts are political subdivisions created under New York State Town Law. The purpose of a fire district is to provide fire and emergency response within a defined geographic area. The Halfmoon – Waterford Fire District No. 1 encompasses parts of the Towns of Halfmoon and Waterford. A fire district is governed by five Fire Commissioners elected by the residents living within the district’s boundaries.

The Board of Fire Commissioners is responsible for the fire tax levy, management and operations of the fire department(s) within its geographic area.